Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Denver Criminal Defense Lawyer / Denver Firearm Charge Lawyer

Denver Firearm Charge Lawyer

Firearms offenses are treated as serious crimes in Colorado. Even if you are a responsible gun owner and simply made a mistake because you were unfamiliar with a particular law, you still need to be represented by an attorney, as you could be facing jail time and large fines. Denver firearm charge lawyer Reid DeChant at DeChant Law is familiar with all firearm and weapons laws in Colorado, and can help you devise a defense strategy to have the case thrown out or the penalties reduced.

Penalties for Firearm Charges in Colorado

Most firearm charges in the state of Colorado are charged as misdemeanors or Class 6 or Class 5 felonies. For repeat offenders, the classification of crime is often increased (such as going from a Class 1 misdemeanor to a Class 6 felony) after the first offense. While a misdemeanor is a lesser offense, it still carries the possibility of jail if you are convicted. Moreover, being convicted of a firearm offense will impact your ability to legally own a firearm in the future. Other consequences include large fines, probation, community service, and being labeled as a convicted criminal, which can have a large impact on your capacity to find new employment.

  • Class 2 Misdemeanor—Up to 120 days in jail and up to a $750 fine
  • Class 1 Misdemeanor—Up to a year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine
  • Class 6 Felony—Up to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $100,000
  • Class 5 Felony—Up to three years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000
  • Class 4 Felony—Up to six years in prison and a fine of up to $500,000

Common Firearm and Weapons Offenses in Colorado

  • Unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon—Class 2 misdemeanor
  • Possession of handgun by a juvenile—Class 2 misdemeanor
  • Prohibited use of a weapon, such as pointing a gun at someone or discharging a firearm recklessly—Class 2 misdemeanor
  • Possession of a dangerous weapon—Class 1 misdemeanor
  • Unlawfully providing or permitting a juvenile to possess a handgun—Class 1 misdemeanor
  • Private firearms transfer—Class 1 misdemeanor
  • Possession of a defaced firearm—Class 1 misdemeanor
  • Defacing a firearm—Class 1 misdemeanor
  • Unlawfully carrying a weapon on school grounds—Class 6 felony
  • Possession of a weapon by a felon—Class 6 felony, or Class 5 felony for certain convictions, such as burglary
  • Using a stun gun during the commission of a crime—Class 5 felony
  • Illegal discharge of a firearm—Class 5 felony
  • Possession of an illegal weapon—Class 5 felony
  • Unlawful purchase of a firearm—Class 4 felony
  • Possession, use, or removal of explosives or incendiary devices—Class 4 felony to a Class 2 felony

Call a Denver Firearm Charge Lawyer Today

If you were arrested for a firearms offense, you need to talk to an attorney right away. Firearms charges should always be taken seriously, and handled by an experienced attorney. Denver firearm charge lawyer Reid DeChant at DeChant Law understands how precarious your situation is, and will do everything in his power to protect your freedom and your rights. Call DeChant Law today at 720-634-6789 for a free case evaluation.