Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Denver Criminal Defense Lawyer / Denver Rape Lawyer

Denver Rape Lawyer

Rape is one of the most serious crimes for which to be charged, and depending on the circumstances, you could be facing decades of years behind bars of convicted. While you may vehemently disagree with the allegations, and believe that proper evidence of sexual assault simply does not exist, you need to understand the position you are in. Being arrested means that prosecutors believe they have plenty of evidence to achieve a conviction in trial. Here at DeChant Law, we understand that you may wish to quickly clear your name by speaking to the police and getting your side of the story down in writing, but doing so will only harm your chances of a successful resolution. Denver rape lawyer Reid DeChant is available to help you navigate this tricky situation, and will be with you every step of the way.

Sexual Assault Vs. Rape

Sexual assault and rape are the same thing, and can be thought of interchangeably. Colorado, like most states, recognizes the term “sexual assault” in its statutes. Sexual assault occurs when an individual knowingly inflicts sexual intrusion or sexual penetration on a victim when one or more of the following is true:

  • The offender forces the victim against their will
  • The victim is physically helpless (such as being unconscious or intoxicated) and the offender knows the victim is physically helpless
  • The offender knows that the victim will submit because of the victim’s mistaken belief that the offender is the victim’s spouse or significant other
  • The offender informs the victim that the sexual activity is being performed for a medical purpose
  • The offender is performing medical services but deviates in conduct from a bona fide medical purpose
  • The victim is under 15 years old and the offender is at least four years older, and is not the spouse of the victim
  • The victim is between 15 and 17 years old and the offender is at least 10 years older, and is not the spouse of the victim
  • The victim is a patient at a hospital or other institute, or is in custody, and the offender has supervisory or disciplinary authority over the victim

Rape is a Class 4 Felony, at Minimum

Being charged with sexual assault in Colorado is a serious issue, no matter the circumstances, and a conviction requires a mandatory minimum of six months in prison. Understanding exactly what you are being charged with, and what the potential penalties of a conviction are, can be confusing. The class of felony you are facing depends on how the rape occurred, whether the victim suffered serious bodily injury, the age of the victim, your own age, and other factors.

Call a Denver Rape Lawyer Today

A rape conviction can lead to a lifetime behind bars, or a lifetime on probation. In addition to that, you will also be labeled as a sex offender for life. To mount a legal defense strategy and to give yourself the best chance at beating these charges, Denver rape lawyer Reid DeChant at DeChant Law is here to help. Call today at 720-634-6789 for a free consultation.