Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Denver Criminal Defense Lawyer / Denver Arson Lawyer

Denver Arson Lawyer

Arson is a serious felony in Colorado, and you could be facing a felony offense even if you did not mean to cause structure damage. If you were arrested for arson, you need to speak to an experienced Denver arson lawyer as soon as possible. Depending on the prosecution’s evidence, a competent criminal defense lawyer may be able to have the charges dismissed or reduced. At DeChant Law, we never stop fighting for our clients’ rights until a verdict or plea deal has been reached.

Definition of Arson in Colorado

Arson is the crime of intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly setting fire to, burning, or using an explosive device to damage or destroy one’s own property, or the property of another without their consent. Because arson is an offense that can cause serious bodily harm or death, it is considered a violent crime. As such, the penalties for committing arson can be very high.

Colorado Penalties For an Arson Conviction

There are many different classifications of arson, and the penalties you may be facing are determined by factors such as: intent, the value of any destroyed property, whether people were endangered, and whether you used an explosive device to start the fire.

  • First degree arson is knowingly setting fire to a building or occupied structure
    • Class 3 felony
    • Using an explosive device carries an enhanced penalty of up to 32 years in prison
  • Second degree arson is setting fire to property other than a building or occupied structure
    • Class 4 felony
    • Class 2 misdemeanor if the damage to the property is less than $100
  • Third degree arson is setting fire to any property with the intent to commit fraud
    • Class 4 felony
  • Fourth degree arson is knowingly starting and/or maintaining a fire recklessly, which causes another person or property to be in danger
    • Class 4 felony if a person is endangered
    • Class 2 misdemeanor if only property valued at $100 or more is endangered

How Serious are Arson Felony and Misdemeanor Offenses?

  • A class 3 felony is punishable by up four to 12 years in prison and fines of $3,000 to $750,000
  • A class 4 felony is punishable by up two to six years in prison and fines of $2,000 to $500,000
  • A class 2 misdemeanor is punishable by up 120 days in jail and fines of $750

Call a Denver Arson Lawyer Today

Being arrested for a crime like arson is a scary, daunting event, but it does not mean that the rest of your life will be spent behind bars. Possible defenses to arson charges include lack of intent to start the fire, lack of intent to commit fraud, establishing that the value of the property burned was less than $100, having authorization from the owner to burn the property in question, and establishing that the property burned was not classified as an occupied structure or building. No matter the circumstances of your case, Denver arson lawyer Reid DeChant at DeChant Law is here to help you win your case. Call us today at 720-634-6789 for a free consultation.