Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Denver Criminal Defense Lawyer / Denver DUI Second Offense Lawyer

Denver DUI Second Offense Lawyer

Colorado treats second DUI offenses very seriously. Whether your first DUI conviction happened a month ago or 20 years ago in another state, being arrested a second time counts as a second DUI offense. Not only does a second DUI offense require a mandatory jail term, but you could very well lose your privilege to drive for up to a year. As such, it is important to contact an attorney as soon as you can to start working on your defense. Denver DUI second offense lawyer Reid DeChant at DeChant Law can help you get started.

What Are the Penalties for a Second DUI in Colorado?

A first DUI offense carries some serious penalties. A second DUI offense, however, bears an entirely other level of consequences, including a mandatory jail sentence and the loss of a driver’s license for a year, unless the defendant can convince the court that early reinstatement is necessary.

  • 10 days to one year in jail
  • Driver’s license revocation of up to a year (one month minimum)
  • $600 to $1,500 in fines
  • 48 to 120 hours of community service
  • Suspended jail sentence of one year
  • 2 to 4 years probation
  • Level II alcohol education and treatment
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock system (for 2 years)
  • SR-22 insurance

Mandatory Jail Time

A second DUI conviction within five years requires a minimum of 10 days in jail. These 10 days must be served consecutively. A judge may allow work release so that the individual does not lose their employment. However, most Colorado judges award much more than 10 days in jail for a second DUI conviction. If the prior DUI conviction happened more than five years ago, a judge may issue house arrest instead of jail.

Having the Charges Reduced or Dismissed

As a second time DUI offender, you will be labeled by the state of Colorado as a persistent drunk driver. However, simply being arrested for a second DUI does not mean that it will end with a conviction, that you will be labeled as a persistent drunk driver, and that you will lose your license for 12 months. We have been able to help many clients have their sentencing reduced or the charges completely dismissed by:

  • Questioning witnesses and obtaining relevant video surveillance
  • Questioning police evidence (written report, video, photos, etc.) for errors
  • Questioning the reason for the initial traffic stop. Was there probable cause?
  • Questioning how the BAC test or sobriety test was performed
  • Questioning whether a medical condition of yours lead to a failed sobriety test
  • Investigating other areas of potential police misconduct, including how evidence was handled

Call a Denver DUI Second Offense Lawyer Today

Depending on the outcome of our investigation into police misconduct, violations of civil rights, medical evidence, etc., the prosecution may simply be forced to drop the case. Or, there may be enough evidence needed to negotiate a plea deal for reduced penalties. Denver DUI second offense lawyer Reid DeChant at DeChant Law is available to answer questions and concerns you may have, and can be reached today at 720-634-6789 for a free case evaluation.