Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Denver Criminal Defense Lawyer / Denver DUI Third Offense Lawyer

Denver DUI Third Offense Lawyer

There is a significant difference between a first/second DUI conviction and a third DUI conviction; a third DUI conviction in the state of Colorado is a criminal offense that carries a mandatory minimum 60-day-long term of incarceration. If you were arrested for a third DUI, even if it was your first in the state of Colorado, you need to seek out professional legal help. Third-time DUIs have serious consequences. You may be able to reduce these consequences, or avoid them altogether by having the charges dismissed, by hiring an attorney who specializes in criminal law and DUI offenses. Denver DUI third offense lawyer Reid DeChant at DeChant Law understands that everyone makes mistakes, and will aggressively defend you in the fight ahead.

The Penalties for a Third DUI in Colorado are Severe

The main difference between a second DUI conviction and a third is the term of incarceration. The mandatory minimum for a first time offense is just 10 days, with many individuals eligible for work release. In many cases, when the second DUI is over five years after a driver’s first, a judge will grant house arrest in lieu of jail time. This is not the case for a third DUI. Regardless of how long ago a driver’s other two DUI convictions were, they will end up facing jail for their third, not house arrest.

  • 60 days to one year in jail (60 days is the mandatory minimum)
  • Driver’s license revocation of up to two years (one month minimum)
  • $600 to $1,500 in fines
  • 48 to 120 hours of community service
  • Suspended jail sentence of one year
  • 2 to 4 years probation
  • Level II alcohol education and treatment
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock system (for 2 years)
  • SR-22 insurance
  • Criminal record—misdemeanor

A Third DUI is a Criminal Offense

Being convicted of a third DUI in Colorado is a misdemeanor offense. This means that it will forever be part of your criminal record, as DUIs cannot be expunged or sealed. And, while you can check the “no” box on job and loan applications if you have been convicted of a first or second DUI, you cannot do so after a third conviction. While a misdemeanor is not as serious as a felony (you can still vote and own firearms having been convicted of the former), a misdemeanor record can still make getting back on your feet extremely difficult.

Call a Denver DUI Third Offense Lawyer Today

Many drivers who are arrested for a third DUI are able to successfully argue that the police officer who pulled them over did not have probable cause, operated the breathalyzer test improperly, or violated the driver’s civil rights. An experienced attorney may be able to have the charges dropped, or the penalties you are up against reduced in severity. This could mean that you get to keep your license after just a month’s revocation, or that you are able to serve part of your jail sentence on work release. Denver DUI third offense lawyer Reid DeChant at DeChant Law is available to help you navigate the path ahead. Call today at 720-634-6789 for a free case evaluation.