Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Denver Criminal Defense Lawyer / Denver DUI First Offense Lawyer

Denver DUI First Offense Lawyer

Being arrested for driving under the influence is a traumatic experience that leaves most people feeling utterly ashamed, terrified, and hopeless, whether they deserved to be arrested for drunk driving or not. However, there are plenty of defense strategies that can be used to fight a first time DUI. Denver DUI first offense lawyer Reid DeChant at DeChant Law is here to offer you hope and a fighting chance to preserve your future.

Penalties for a First DUI in Colorado

Driving with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher is considered drunk driving in Colorado. A BAC is usually performed via breathalyzer, but can also be taken with a blood sample. Law enforcement can also arrest a driver for driving under the influence by administering a sobriety test. A first time DUI in the state of Colorado carries the following penalties if the driver is convicted.

  • Five days to one year in jail
  • 12 points on your driver’s license, triggering an automatic suspension of nine months
  • Fines of up to $1,000
  • Two years on probation
  • Up to 96 hours of community service
  • Level I alcohol education class
  • Misdemeanor offense on your criminal record

DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired)

You can be arrested for impaired driving even if your BAC is below the legal limit of 0.08 percent. Law enforcement in Colorado can arrest drivers with BACs between 0.05 and 0.08 percent if the driver’s ability is legally impaired, making them unsafe to drive on the road. A first time DWAI conviction can result in:

  • Two to 180 days in jail
  • 8 points on your driver’s license
  • Fines of up to $500
  • Up to 48 hours of community service

First Time DUI: BAC of 0.15 or Above

The state of Colorado imposes additional penalties for drivers who have extraordinary blood alcohol contents—BACs greater than 0.15 percent. With a BAC of 0.15, most people would have a difficult time walking in a straight line, and vomiting is common. As such, a conviction for a first time DUI with a BAC of 0.15 or greater classifies the driver as a persistent drunk driver. The penalties are as follows:

  • Five days to one year in jail
  • 12 points on your driver’s license, triggering an automatic suspension of nine months
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock system
  • Fines of up to $1,000
  • Two years on probation
  • Up to 96 hours of community service
  • Level II alcohol education class
  • Misdemeanor offense on your criminal record

Call a Denver DUI First Offense Lawyer Today

A first offense DUI is a serious crime in Colorado. If you have prior DUI convictions in another state, these count toward the number of DUIs here in Colorado. As such, even if this was your first DUI in Colorado, it could be charged as your second, third, or fourth DUI, all of which carry even harsher penalties. To learn about your options, call a Denver DUI first offense lawyer at DeChant Law today at 720-634-6789 for a free case evaluation.